Meatless Monday

Humphrey Update

Some of you have been asking me for updates on Humphrey, my Tuxedo cat, and I’m happy to share the good news that he’s finally on the upswing.

After several various vet visits, the verdict?  Severe dehydration.

The vet told me it was a good thing that I brought in all of the samples like I did, because he was so dehydrated that he may have had a blockage which inevitably would have landed him in the emergency room.

So, in other words, we’re really pushing the fluids!!  He eats an all canned food diet (important for cats, especially males who are prone to blockages!) already but it wasn’t enough.  So now I”m in the habit of adding an extra couple of spoonfuls of warm water to his food.  It seems to be doing the trick!  His energy levels have already perked up, his appetite is in full swing, and he’s back to his normal (silly, mischievous, quirky) self! :mrgreen:

I appreciate all of your well wishes!!!

TMJ Update

Today I ate my first salad in over a week and a half which is a huge improvement from last week.  I may be pushing this resting period along a little quickly, as my jaw felt tired after noshing through the lettuce greens, but it felt good to finally sink my teeth into something without any serious pain.

I do plan, however, on resuming soft foods for at least another couple of days.  Just until the pain has really subsided!  I’m reminding myself to treat this jaw injury as I would a running injury.  Don’t hurry.  Don’t rush it.  

Meatless Monday

Happy Meatless Monday!!

Time to share one of my personal favorite recipes.

I make this Warm Italian Lentil Salad at least once a month.  Any leftovers (if there are any) are neatly packaged away for lunches throughout the week.  It’s one of those types of meals that I could just eat endlessly and never ever grow tired of it.

I especially love how many veggies, fruits and nuts are tucked into this dish.

Load ’em up!  Pile ’em high!

The more, the merrier.

The lentils are so full of flavor (thanks to the lemon & oil vinaigrette ,) that nothing feels as if its gone missing.  You won’t be reaching for the parmesan.  You won’t be asking “where’s the chicken?”  You won’t be eating meatballs on the side.

Nope.

This meal is complete.  Completely easy.  Completely satisfying.  Completely salty, sweet, tangy.

Yum.

Giada’s Warm Italian Lentil Salad — slightly modified from the original Food Network recipe

(Serves about 6)

Salad:
1 pound brown lentils
4 scallions, chopped
2 cups halved seedless green and/or red grapes
1 cucumber, peeled, seeded and diced
1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts
2 teaspoons lemon zest (from about 2 lemons)

Vinaigrette:
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice (from 1 to 2 lemons)
1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil over high heat. Add the lentils and cook until tender, stirring occasionally, about 10-15 minutes. Drain and let cool for 5 minutes. Place lentils and remaining salad ingredients in a large salad bowl.
  2. Place the lemon juice in a small bowl. Slowly add the oil, whisking constantly, until combined. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.  Pour the vinaigrette over the salad and toss well.

QUESTION: What meatless dish are you currently loving?

17 thoughts on “Meatless Monday

  1. So glad to hear that Humphrey is on the mend!
    I really love lentils–they’re so versatile! I made a vegan shepherd’s pie last week using lentils instead of ground beef. Perfection!
    I’ve been really into making meatless pasta dishes lately. I made a Mediterranean version last weekend (with feta, roasted peppers, and olives), and tonight I made a pasta dish with roasted beets.

    • Your pasta with roasted beet sauce looks fantastic!

      I’ve been wanting to make a vegan shepherd’s pie for some time now. Any particular recipe that you’d highly recommend? 😀

  2. Oh my that recipe looks fantastic! I will definitely have to try it. I am currently enjoying tofu, sweet potatoes, yoghurt… Vegetarian meals are so much easier to make for one person. Especially when I get home from a long day in grad school world :/
    At least Humphrey did not get an UTI – I’ve heard that is also pretty common. My male cat is a pretty good drinker, but he is a maine coon and has a strange (for a cat) fascination with water. I sometimes put chicken broth and water in my cats’ food when I get paranoid about their bladders… 😛

    • I never considered chicken broth! I’ll have to try and see if he likes a little bit of it with his dinner, as that would really up the fluid intake.

      And yes, I’m always afraid of a UTI as well…thanks so much for sharing this great tip! 😀

  3. I may have to try this recipe… I think it might be a stretch for Nate, but he’s been surprising me and enjoying healthy options that he wouldn’t have even tried before. 🙂

Leave a comment