Granola with Personality.

I’m convinced that what we as foodies like to cook can reveal something about our personality.

For example.

My mom bakes bread.  She is patient.  Warm.  Encouraging.  Willing to take time out of her busy day to talk with you when you need it.

My sister makes things like butternut squash soup.  Homemade cheeze-its.  Artichoke dip.  She makes you feel good inside and out.  She’s fun to be around.  She’s always full of surprises.

Me?

I make things like granola.  I try not to think of what this means about my personality (earthy? crunchy?  or just full of variety ‘n’ spice…yes, let’s go with that one!)

In all honesty, I mostly cook the same granola recipe over and over and over again.  Because once I find a favorite, I find it hard to say goodbye.

But when a friend turned me on to this recipe from the Joy of Cooking Cookbook, I knew I had to try it for myself.  I was out of some ingredients but threw in a variety of others to make up for it.

The chia seeds are perhaps my favorite part, as they add a fun poppy crunch and a healthy dose of omega-3’s.

Mmhmm…

How’s that for a bit of personality?

Crunchy Granola – altered slightly from the recipe seen in the Joy of Cooking
(makes about 9 cups)

Serve this granola warm for a sensational snack, breakfast, dessert.

Feel free, also, to add your favorite mix-ins such as dried fruit (added at the end of cooking to prevent rock hard fruit!) pistachios, cocoa powder, wheat germ, ginger powder etc.  Have fun with it!  

  • 3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1⁄2 cup crushed flax seed
  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 1⁄2 cup dry milk powder
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped almonds
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1⁄2 cup sesame seeds
  • 1 cup hulled sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon and nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1⁄2 cup canola oil
  • 1⁄2 cup honey or maple syrup
  1. Preheat the oven to 300°F. Scatter the oats over a large rimmed baking sheet and toast in the oven about 15 minutes, stirring frequently.
  2. Combine flax seed through sea salt in a large bowl.
  3. Combine oil and honey (or maple syrup) in a small pot and cook over low heat for 5 minutes.  Stir the honey mixture into the flax seed mixture. Combine with the toasted oats. Spread in a thin layer on the baking sheet (use 2 pans if necessary) and toast, stirring frequently, 30-40 minutes, or until all the ingredients are toasted (avoid overcooking.) Let cool, then store in a tightly sealed container at room temperature for up to 1 month.

QUESTION: What are your favorite granola mix-ins?  What do you like to cook most, and what do you think this might reveal about your personality?

9 thoughts on “Granola with Personality.

  1. Yum, yum! I still make your olive oil and pistachio granola on a regular basis–it’s such an unusual but delicious combination. This recipe looks just as tasty, however!
    My favorite granola mix-ins include coconut, wheat germ, and dried cherries.

  2. The fact that you make granola makes you granola! And I mean that in the best possible way because I hate when people use granola as an insult (the adjective, I mean, not the noun. because I don’t know how exactly you could insult someone with a delicious snack such as granola)

  3. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #2 | The Simple Dietitian

  4. Pingback: Simply Breakfast | The Simple Dietitian

Leave a Reply

