Simply Breakfast

Good morning!

My weekend thus far has been completely and utterly relaxing.  The honest to goodness extent of my activity has been a 4-mile run yesterday morning and a jaunt around the bookstore yesterday afternoon.

In other words.

This weekend was delicious.  Really.  I think my body needed the rest.

One of my current favorite things to include at breakfast are muffins.

Bran.  Blueberry.  Cinnamon.  Peanut Butter.  Etc, etc, etc.  Or, my personal favorite, pumpkin!  Check out my favorite (healthy!) recipe here  >>>   Whole Wheat Pumpkin Muffins

When muffins combine with a little bit of yogurt, the most wonderful thing happens.  The muffins absorb a little liquid, a little moisture, and suddenly it feels as if I’m eating cake batter for breakfast.

It’s wonderful.

What’s In My Breakfast

almost (not quite) empty peanut butter jar

…filled with layers of…

whole wheat pumpkin muffin, crumbled

…and the following mixture…

1 cup low fat greek yogurt + 1 Tbsp. flax seed + 1 sliced banana 

…yum…

Why This Breakfast Works

  • Fiber (keeps you full:) Muffin (made with whole wheat flour) + banana
  • Fat (keeps you full:) Peanut Butter + flax seed
  • Protein (keeps you full:) Low Fat Yogurt

QUESTION: What did YOU have for breakfast?

10 thoughts on “Simply Breakfast

  1. Heck yes, I love it when I can dump everything into an almost empty container and chow down. Have you ever tried putting craisins in pumpkin muffins? I have always wanted to try it but then forget every time I make them… 🙂
    You can also give plain pumpkin out of the can to cats – it helps keep the bowels normal… which for some reason my two need help with 😛

    • I have yet to try craisins in the pumpkin muffins, but I’ll bet that would be delicious!

      Also. Thanks for the heads up with pumpkin for cats!! Humphrey could definitely use the help as well, so I appreciate the tip. 😉

      • Humphrey is definitely on the upswing! Come to find out, he was severely dehydrated. He eats canned food only but apparently that isn’t enough to keep him hydrated. So now I’m pushing the fluids in any way I can. 😀

        Oh, and thanks for asking about the TMJ! That’s also on the upswing. I’m starting to eat much more solid foods as of yesterday and today, which is such a nice change of pace from smoothies! 😀

  2. Ooh, thanks for the reminder on muffins. I haven’t made a batch in ages and I still have a few cans of pumpkin left after Thanksgiving. This term I have a couple early mornings and I really need something to grab and go sometimes!

    Today though I had a nice bowl of oatmeal with some oranges and pears on the side.

Leave a Reply

