“Fall”ing into Hummus

I’m finally sick.

As in.

“Throat feels like pea soup, head feels like basketball, nose looks like rudolph” sick.

Along with getting plenty of rest, I’ve also managed to get plenty of fresh air, which always seems to help me get better quicker.

Today I’m somehow going to plow through a busy work day with a smile on my face.

Yesterday, however, was all about spending the day in my comfies, snuggling up with Humphrey and lots of tea (and kale salad, which I was oddly craving!)  Sometimes you just got to let yourself get sick so that you can get better.  Resistance is futile.  (Especially on a rainy Sunday afternoon.)

So what did I do with all of my free, lazy down time?

I made hummus.

Lots and lots of hummus.

I like to make big batches of hummus on the weekend and then I eat it throughout the week.

Hummus is a nice way to add in more beans to your diet, which are linked to a league of health protective benefits.  They’re also tasty (especially in a pureed dip form!)  Hummus is good on everything from toasted english muffins to triscuit crackers with olive slices to large green salads.

Or try a big scoop in a wrap with pea shoots and raw veggies and call it lunch.

Your Basic Hummus Recipe-Original Vitamix Recipe

If your blender gives you issues with blending things like ice and nuts, use tahini in place of the raw sesame seeds and crush the garlic before adding.

  • 2 15-oz cans garbanzo beans (one drained, one with liquid)
  • 1/4 cup raw sesame seeds
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 tsp cumin

Add all ingredients to blender from top down.  Mix well.  Mixture will appear on the thin side, but will thicken after refrigeration.  ENJOY!

12 thoughts on ““Fall”ing into Hummus

  1. Hope you feel better soon! Fresh air and sleep always help 🙂
    That hummus looks delish. I like that it uses sesame seeds instead of tahini, because one of the reasons I don’t make hummus is because I have to buy a jar of tahini just for hummus. Sesame seeds are much more multi purpose 😀

  2. I agree with Bea, using the Sesame seeds rather than tahini is a good idea! I eat hummas all the time with carrots in the afternoon. I’ll have to try out this recipe.

    Also the pictures are amazing! Hope you feel better soon.

  3. I generally make hummus in the food processor and I have to use tahini because sesame seeds will never come out as smooth as they would in a high powered blender. I also prefer to use canola oil since it’s pretty much tasteless and I don’t like the taste of olive oil in my hummus. (I do put olive oil ON my hummus, and yes, I know that doesn’t make any sense)

  4. Your hummus looks sooooo creamy and delicious! I am going to try this recipe in my food processor.. always looking for ways to get more beans in my diet

    • Either way works, honestly! Most tahini is just 100% ground up sesame seeds with no salt or oils added. I just so happened to have sesame seeds on hand but no tahini, so this was my improvisation. 😀

Leave a comment