Then and Now.

I was recently looking back at my old blog from 2007 and found myself feeling amazed at how much I’ve changed over the years (good and bad!)

It can be fun to reminisce.  To see where I’m coming from.  To set goals for where I’m going.

THEN:

I weighed 117lb and I was trying hard to gain weight.  I worked hard to consume well over 3000 calories a day and yet I was still not gaining an ounce.  This lead to some health problems and “weighed” on me psychologically and physically.

NOW:

I weigh 135-140lb and have been maintaining this for the past couple of years.  This is my “set point,” where my body feels happy and I don’t feel the need to lose or gain.  It’s my happy weight!

THEN:

I counted calories and measured EVER-Y-THING!

NOW:

I eat intuitively and I’m too busy to anything. 😉

I rely mostly on what I call “eyeballing.”

THEN: I ran 3 miles, 3 days a week.  Rain, snow, sleet, shine.  I was completely devoted and wouldn’t have dreamed of missing a scheduled run.  I definitely enjoyed running but it was also sort of a love-hate relationship.

NOW: Even though I run more mileage these days, I feel much more relaxed in my routine.  If I need to miss a day because there’s a meeting at work?  Okay.  If I feel like taking a week off just for the sake of taking a week off?  Okay!  I also try to fit in alternative workouts, such as yoga, biking, hiking, etc.

I also have more fun with my workouts.  I run because it makes me deliciously happy.  Not because it’s on my to-do list.

THEN: I ate a lot of convenience foods.  Carnation instant breakfast.  Granola bars.  Frozen pizza.  “Light hotdogs” with beans.  Etc, etc, etc.

Slowly I transitioned into being a more health conscious eater.  However, I was less of a foodie and more of a “this is good for my body so I’m going to eat it.”  I enjoyed what I ate but I also kept myself in a box.  I went through spurts of being a vegetarian and then a vegan, which I loved, but I still felt restricted.

NOW: I’m still a health conscious eater, but I have broadened my horizons.  I’m somewhere in the middle of being a health nut and a foodie.  I like eating locally.  I still eat mostly plants.  But I also include cheeses, bacon, chocolate, and butter in my life.  And when I do eat meat, I like to support the local farms that raise and treat their animals well.

THEN: I loved and adored the Kodak camera that my parents had purchased for me.  I used it until the camera began to make funny noises and literally had a crack in the screen.  I took my camera with me anywhere and everywhere that I went.  And, for the record, I still hold on to it for sentimental reasons!

NOW: Photography became more than just a hobby.  I wanted to learn more about exposure and aperture and shutter speed.  I wanted to do more than just snap ‘n’ shoot.  I wanted to tell a story!  I still have so much to learn within the avenue of photography, but I’m happy to say that the Kodak was eventually replaced with a Canon Rebel which I love, love, love!

Then: I was happy.  I loved college.  But I was less certain of my future and who I was as an individual.  I felt that I had to prove myself in several different areas of my life.

Now: I’m more sure of myself.  The older I get, the more that I have peace with who I am.  I feel strong, healthy, happy.  Self questioning has been replaced with self confidence.

My family (as always,) mean the world to me.  They stand beside me through everything and they encourage me to be the very best version of me.

They have always been, really and truly, my inspiration.

Some things never change.

QUESTION: What are some of the ways that you have changed  over the years?

 

4 thoughts on “Then and Now.

  1. Growing up sounds shitty but then when you think retrospectively you realize how much you’ve learned and established yourself through experience and experimentation. We thought we knew everything about ourseves and the world when we were younger and now we realize that we’re all just works in progress.

  2. This is SUCH a cool idea. You are brilliant and beautiful, my dear!!! Where do you think you’ve seen the most change (that you’re proud of)? And what’s one thing NOW that will soon be a THEN because you’re working on changing? So curious!

    • Oh, I love your questions!!!

      I think the biggest change that I’m the most proud of is just learning to be comfortable with ME. It’s easy to be super self conscious during the teen years, but now that I’m in my 20’s, I’m so much more sure of myself.

      And as far as what will someday be a THEN…I’d like to say my boldness. I’m working on being more confident with speaking my mind (when appropriate!) and with learning to be more and more just myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

