The beginning of summer.

Say hello to the newest addition in our garden.

Way back in January, when New England was still underneath a tower of snow and ice, I began dreaming of sunshine and warmth and gardens.  My dad began dreaming with me, as we discussed the idea of having raised beds.

Raised beds are the golden standard for any gardener.  They offer a much needed seat.  They hold in moisture.  They allow ample space for roots to dig down deep, deep, deep.  They’re convenient, resourceful and (when done correctly,) they promise less weeding time (huzzah!!)

We both spent a good, “non-stop” kind of 3 hours putting this together yesterday.  My back and arms are sore today and it feels absolutely delicious.  I love that natural feeling of being achy and tired after a day of physical work.  I love getting my hands dirty.  I love watching those winter dreams become a summery reality.  And now, thanks to dad’s guiding expertise, I love using power saws (who knew?)

Here’s to the beginning of something great.  Here’s to the beginning of summer.

QUESTION: Will you be growing a vegetable and/or flower garden this year?

5 thoughts on “The beginning of summer.

  1. What did/will you plant??

    I attempt to keep a basil plant alive every year. That’s it. And that’s a stretch for my level of knowledge, skill, and interest 🙂

    Can’t wait to see your garden thrive!

    • Hoping for tomatoes, beets, cucumbers, kale, peppers, carrots!

      And I can not for the life of me grow basil. I don’t know what it is, but it always ends up shriveling up on me. Any secrets to basil growing??

    • Yes, with the help of my dad (who happens to be a seasoned carpenter.) I’m far from knowing what it is that I’m doing, but I totally enjoyed it. I think I’ve found a new passion. 😀

Leave a Reply

