Simply Breakfast.

After a week long running hiatus, I decided to lace up my sneaks and hit the road for a little 4-mile run yesterday.  It was going against “plan”, but it just felt right.

(In other words, when New England hits 50 degrees in mid-January, you just gotta ‘run’ with it!)

I guess my metabolism got used to not doing anything over this past week, because this morning I woke up hungry!!!  Thank goodness for breakfast.

I went through a spurt when I had breakfast cookies every.single.morning.  Now I have them less often but I still like to make them a regular entry into my breakfast routine.

A cold morning meal served with a side of ice cold, unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

(Subconsciously I’m pretending it’s summer.  A girl can dream. 😉 )

With a full belly and happy taste buds, I’m now I’m ready for my day to begin.

Happy Sunday!

Pumpkin Pie Breakfast Cookie

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin (100% pumpkin)
  • dash of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • 1 Tbsp. salted almond butter
  • 1-2 tsp crushed flax seed
  • 3/4 very ripe banana, mashed well
  • 1 tsp molasses (optional)
  1. In a medium bowl, combine all of above ingredients.  Smash well to incorporate all ingredients. If mixture looks too soft, add more flax.  If it’s too dry, add a splash of milk.
  2. Spread evenly on a small plate with a fork.  Flatten and spread out evenly.  Pop in fridge overnight.
  3. Take out of fridge the next morning and top with a few more slices of banana.  Enjoy with a glass of your favorite milk!

QUESTION: What are you enjoying for breakfast this morning?

4 thoughts on “Simply Breakfast.

  1. Hi Sarah! I am loving the dark chocolate, nuts and sea salt KIND bars. Also, I’m on a kale kick. I’ve had kale every day this new year except Jan. 1. I’ve done a 365 photo project and am thinking that this year will be 365 kale, what do you think?

    • Ah! I love the 365 kale idea. How wonderful would that be? I actually just got a note in my inbox stating that kale will be one of the top 5 most talked about “health foods” in 2014 as well. So needless to say, it would be incredibly awesome to document. 😀

Leave a Reply

