31 Years.

31 years ago today, my parents were married.

Being a single girl, I often look at such extended lengths of marriage in a state of awe.  I wonder how two young people can start a home with nothing but a dream and a bare minimum income.  I wonder how two young people can start a family and create such a firm, safe foundation that their children learn to trust.  I wonder how a young dad can let his daughters know that they’re special and unique and they don’t need fulfillment from all the wrong kinds of guys.  I wonder how a young mom can create such warmth and love and that feeling of home.

I wonder how two young people could create all of that.  And 31 years later still be completely in love.

But my parents did.  They talked things out, they never went to bed angry, and they learned how to settle their differences.  They always put God first.  They are my rock, the two people I look up to more than anything.

Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad!  I hope that if I someday meet the man of my dreams, that our marriage will be as true and pure as yours has always been.  Love you lots and lots!

Leave a Reply

