How I Do “Detox.”

So, I’m feeling the bloat.

Let’s just say I held nothing back this vacation in NYC.

Yes, I would like the whole chocolate milk.  Yes, I would like bacon in my omelette.  Yes, I’d like that bagel even though I had breakfast an hour ago.

Indulgence.  It was delicious and I wouldn’t change a darn thing.

That being said, I’m trying to get myself back on track.

Which isn’t always easy.  I find that while it is indeed easy to include more of certain things again (veggies, fruits, etc.,) it’s not as easy to cut back on other things (sugar, high fat foods, etc.) thereby returning to what I consider “normal.”

Sigh.

Where to begin?

Well.

I don’t claim to have all the answers on this, but this is what has worked for me over the years.

Nothing extreme, nothing fancy.  Here is how I do “detox.”

1. Don’t go beyond hungry.

My first rule is to make sure that I don’t starve myself.  I eat until I’m comfortably full and I eat every 3 or 4 hours.  If I let myself go beyond hungry, I’ll end up starving (of course) and all good intentions will fly out the window.  (aka, the moment when chocolate cake sounds like a well rounded lunch.)

2. Eat what you love (just don’t overdo it.)

I’m not a cold turkey kinda gal.  And I’ll never live without dessert…it’s a daily thing for me!  I do try to include more fruits throughout the day to satisfy my never ending sweet tooth and I keep dessert small but sweet.  Something I really, really want to curb those cravings (dark chocolate usually does the trick for me…or a small scoop of chocolate studded trail mix from Trader Joes.  Yum!)

3. Fill up on volume.

If I’m feeling the munchies (because I gave into them so frequently during vacation,) I’ll turn to high volume/low calorie foods.  These are things like watermelon, salads, popcorn, etc.  While they don’t keep me full, they fill me up for the moment which is all I’m really looking for.  For extra staying power, I’ll add in a handful of almonds to the mix and VOILA!  A filling, satisfying midafternoon snack is born.

4. Move more.

Exercise is my best friend when I’m trying to get myself back to normal living and normal eating.  I try to move a little more throughout the following week after vacation.  This can mean running an extra mile on each day that I go out for a run or simply moving around more often at work (i.e., taking the stairs to the bathroom, taking a 5 minute walk break every hour, etc.)

5. Drink more water.

I never seem to drink enough water on vacation.  For some reason, I was especially dehydrated after my NYC trip, and found myself feeling exhausted for a good 2-3 days afterwards because of this.

For that reason, I focus on bringing my water bottle along with me everywhere.  I make it extra appealing by tossing in sliced oranges to give my water color and a citrusy zing.

6. Eat more kale.

Kale is my favorite green veggie, so I add it to everything.  Smoothies.  Salads.  Soups.  Stir frys.  The point is to include more veggies and to bulk up on fiber rich foods (canned beans, tomatoes, cauliflower, etc.)  They’re super nutritious, good for the body, and super filling…which keeps me from craving everything else sitting in the fridge at the time.

7. Don’t beat yourself up.

Last but not least, I don’t beat myself up over one indulgent weekend and you shouldn’t either.  It was fun!  I loved it!  I wouldn’t want it any different!  It’s okay to indulge now and then. :D

Leave a Reply

