Meatless Monday: Roasted Veggie Quesadillas

Cajun.

Aka, my secret weapon.

9 times out of 10, when people proclaim, “This has so much flavor, what did you do??”

My answer?

Cajun.

I sprinkle it on almost everything.

(FYI: When my answer isn’t cajun, it’s usually ‘cinnamon’…which I also just so happen to sprinkle on almost everything!)

Tonight for dinner, I made some roasted veggie quesadillas.  Which started with sprinkling (you guessed it!) cajun seasoning over some peppers and mushrooms and onions.

While the veggies roasted in the oven, I heated a large griddle pan and then layered some cheese between the whole wheat tortilla wraps, letting them get all crispy and gooey and awesome.

And then I preceded to stuff them silly with the cajun roasted veggies.

Yum.

Roasted Veggie Quesadillas

Any leftover veggies are delicious on top of pizza or served over a baked potato with a little avocado.  This is a very versatile recipe and you can truly make it your own by subbing in other vegetables or serving them over something entirely different.  Enjoy and have fun!

Serves 3

  • 1 green bell peppers, thinly sliced
  • 1 red bell peppers, thinly sliced
  • 1 onions, thinly sliced
  • 10 mushrooms, thickly sliced
  • Cajun Seasoning
  • 3 Whole Wheat Tortillas
  • 3/4 cup Reduced Fat Mozzarella Cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Mix vegetables together on cookie sheet that has been coated with cooking spray.  Sprinkle liberally with cajun seasoning (to taste.)  Stir together and place in oven for a total of about 25-30 minutes, stirring halfway through cooking time.
  3. Meanwhile, heat nonstick pan to medium.  Spray with cooking spray.  Place tortilla wraps on top and place about 1/4 c. of cheese on half of each wrap.  Fold wrap in half and press down lightly.  Cook until browned on underside, flip, and cook the other side until browned and crispy.
  4. When veggies are done roasting, open up quesadillas and fill with the roasted vegetables.  Cut in half and serve!

QUESTION: Do you have a favorite go-to spice (or herb, sauce, etc?)  For me, it’s cajun, cinnamon, garlic powder and cilantro.  I use these ingredients with abundance! 😀

10 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Roasted Veggie Quesadillas

  1. These look great! I love simple recipes that you can change up depending on what’s in your fridge. I put crushed red pepper in almost everything savory haha I just love the spice! But cinnamon is a close second for everything breakfast-y.

  2. Mmm! I haven’t used Cajun seasoning in my cooking, so I guess I need to get on it!
    My go-to flavorings are garlic powder, cayenne (or Sriracha), cinnamon, and basil.

    • Oh, I love basil too!! When summer rolls around, it’s the one herb that I can’t resist buying at every single farmers market that I walk by. 😀

  3. I seem to find myself using a lot of cumin when I cook savoury dishes, but I think my favourite spice is black pepper. For sweet dishes cinnamon and cardamom are my top choices.

  4. My go-to is Old Bay. I really don’t think it’s popular outside of the Chesapeake Bay/Maryland/Pennsylvania area but it is freaking amazing. I also get smoked salt from a local shop and that goes on pretty much everything we eat too; it just brings out the flavor and adds another layer of somethin tasty. I guess I should try cajun on our veggies next time!

Leave a Reply

