Ch-ch-chia!

I’ve been using chia seeds a lot lately.  In my oatmeal.  In my yogurt.  In my granola.  You name it, I’m using it.

(As a side note, I just started keeping things like chia seeds, wheat germ, flaxseed, etc. in little mason jars, in the fridge.  I notice that when I have them in their original bags, I forget to use them (out of side, out of mind.)  When they’re front in center, greeting me each morning, I almost always remember to use them when making my breakfast.)

Now that’s some real fancy schmancy labeling right there, huh? 😉

When it comes to healthy eating, I’m not a huge advocate of the self proclaimed “super foods.”  I believe that a healthy life can be obtained in a pretty simply (and also affordable!) way, with fruits, veggies, lean protein, healthy fats, etc.  There’s not necessarily a need for the savvier trends, like quinoa, chia seeds, etc.  But they’re fun and healthy, and they can offer you a unique way to sneak in more healthy fats, fiber, protein, etc.

I especially like to include them in my breakfast meals.

Like muffins.

These muffins are dense and subtly sweet, and (best of all) they will keep you full for hours, thanks to the fiber boost.  They remind me of morning glory muffins and would probably be delicious with dried pineapple and cashews!

Yum.

Bran Flax Muffins – modified from the original “Bob’s Red Mill” recipe

I began making this recipe only to realize that I was missing several ingredients.  I had to substitute ingredients based on what I had on hand, and this is the resulting recipe…which ended up turning out just fine (crisis averted!)  Increase the amount of sugar used if you prefer a sweeter muffin and use the lesser amount if you like a subtle sweetness.  Enjoy these muffins with a tall glass of milk and a fruit for an easy, fiber rich breakfast option!

  • 1-1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup flaxseed
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds (or use all flaxseed)
  • 3/4 cup oat bran
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1-1/2 cups finely shredded Carrots
  • 2 shredded Apples
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 3/4 cup Milk
  • 2 beaten beaten Eggs
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  1. Mix together flour, flaxseed, oat bran, brown sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl.
  2. Stir in carrots, apples, raisins and nuts. Combine milk, beaten eggs and vanilla. Pour liquid ingredients into dry ingredients. Stir until ingredients are moistened. DO NOT OVER MIX.
  3. Fill 12 muffin cups evenly. Bake at 350 degrees F for 15-20 minutes.  Let cool slightly before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

QUESTION: Do you use things like chia seeds, flax seeds, wheat germ, etc. in your daily eats and/or cooking?  Which are your favorites?  

12 thoughts on “Ch-ch-chia!

  1. Great minds think alike, Sarah! I keep wheat germ, chia, and flax in re-purposed nut butter jars in my fridge. I like having them front and center so I’m always tempted to eat them.
    I’ve been loving chia seeds lately–so good as a smoothie topping!
    Quick question for you: I’ve always used toasted wheat germ but never raw. Is there a noticeable difference in taste? Just curious!

    • For some reason, I almost always buy the raw (and then sometimes I’ll lightly toast it myself.) I do like the taste of toasted wheat germ a little better though. There’s more texture to it and it has that lovely, warm flavor…kind of similar in comparison of toasted nuts vs. raw nuts. 😀

  2. Glad it all turned out well! Good thing you outsmarted your pantry of ingredients 😉

    I don’t eat meat (just seafood on occasion) so I should probably be adding things like chia, flax, etc to a meal or two. Could I just strike it rich and hire a personal chef? That’d be wonderful. ha

  3. I’m not a big fan of “superfoods” either, especially ones like acai powder and dried golden berries that cost an arm and a leg but don’t offer any appreciable nutrition benefits over and above regular fruits and veggies. That being said, I do love chia seeds for the texture they give my oatmeal (and for the boost of fibre and omega 3s)!

Leave a Reply

