Granola Girl.

I find there are two recurrent food items that I am always making and/or blogging about.

(1) Muffins.

and

(2) Granola.

That about sums up my life in the kitchen these days.  Because even when things get busy, there is always time to make a batch of granola.  And, if there isn’t, then life’s priorities need to be reevaluated.

Granola is easy.  And it’s delicious.  And it makes me happy.  In other words, it’s worth taking 30 minutes out of the day to make a batch.

(This is my go-to granola recipe: Simply Granola)

I followed it to the letter today, except I doubled up on the maple syrup (I wanted a SWEET batch made with my cousin’s own maple syrup!!) and I subbed in wheat germ for the flax seed because that’s what I had on hand.  I also added in walnuts and pumpkin seeds for extra crunch.

This was one of my favorite batches yet.

Crunchy.

Sweet ‘n’ salty.

Totally addicting.

I paired it with some non-fat plain yogurt and an orange for a fun afternoon snack.

Yessiree, Bob.  Granola sure does me make me happy.

(P.S…

Don’t be afraid to tweak ingredients!  If you think cocoa would be good, add a scoop!  If you like fruity granola, add a handful of raisins or cranberries during the last 5 minutes of cooking time.  Or use honey or agave in place of the maple syrup.  Have fun!)

QUESTION: What is your favorite flavor for granola??  I like mine plain and simple for the most part.  Sweet and salty with plenty of crunch.  I don’t really like fruit in my granola and tend to keep them out.  But occasionally I’ll add in some dried cranberries to the mix. 😀

12 thoughts on “Granola Girl.

  1. Yum. I love granola too. I make a really simple maple granola, and I’ll add some cashews or walnuts to the jars after its done cooking. I tend to leave fruit out of my own granola, since I find it gets too chewy when cooked, but I like it in storebought kinds. And cocoa – now that is something I have to add in sometime.

    • Mmm…I’m definitely loving the sound of cashews in granola. I don’t think I’ve *ever* done that. Which is crazy, considering cashews are one of my favorite nuts. Definitely planning on doing this for the next batch! 😀

  2. I always love your granola recipes–your olive oil one with pistachios is still one of my favorites!
    I generally add as many different kinds of dried fruits and nuts as I have on hand–wheat germ is also a favorite of mine for its texture.

Leave a Reply

