A Peanut Butter Kiss.

I found my mom and I both deep in laughter about 10 minutes into the peanut butter cookie baking process.  Her hands were full of butter, my fingers were sticky with sugar.  We danced to Britt Nicole, as we joked and teased, just like we would any ol’ other day.  Any ol’ other week.

I laughed until tears started to stream from my face.  Good tears, happy tears.  It felt right.

(My sous chef! :mrgreen: )

When life feels heavy and my heart is burdened, I pray.  For the peace of God to surround those who have been touched by such evil.  For love and for comfort.

And then I bake.  Because it’s the only other thing that seems to make any sense when my head is so tirelessly spinning.

I served Dad a hot cookie—straight from the oven—with a tall glass of soy milk, as he came rolling in from his 4-mile run.  It made me happy.

What is it about butter and sugar and peanut butter kisses that can so instantly make a person smile?

Peanut Butter Kisses – as seen in a Pillsbury Flyer from 1987

This recipe makes about 3-1/2 dozen cookies, so plan on sending some away with people OR pop ’em in the freezer and pull out as needed.  These are a sure crowd pleaser.  Enjoy!

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup chunky or smooth peanut butter
  • 2 Tbsp. milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • chocolate candy kisses
  1. Heat oven to 375.  
  2. In a large bowl, beat sugar, brown sugar and butter until light and fluffy.  Add peanut butter milk, vanilla and egg; beat well.  Lightly spoon flour into measuring cup; level off.  Add flour, baking soda and salt; mix well.  If dough appears too sticky, add a little more flour.
  3. Shape dough into 1-inch balls; roll in sugar.  Place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets; do not flatten.
  4. Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.  Immediately top each cookie with a milk chocolate candy kiss, pressing down firmly so that cookie cracks around edges.  Let rest 2 minutes and then transfer to a cooling rack.
  5. ENJOY with a tall glass of cold milk. 😀
5 thoughts on “A Peanut Butter Kiss.

  1. We have a family friend who bakes us several varieties of cookies for Christmas every year. All of them are tasty, but the peanut butter kisses are often the first ones to disappear! I’m glad to have this recipe…now I don’t have to wait for Christmas when I get a craving 🙂

Leave a Reply

