Kale Chips

Confession: I get a thrill out of mentioning ‘kale’ to my patients, just to see their initial reaction.

Some people clap their hands, a beautiful smile on their face; “I grow kale in my garden every year; it’s delicious!”

Some people make gagging sounds and ask if I’m intentionally causing them to feel nauseous. 😉

Kale is just one of those vegetables.  You love it or you hate it.  Or maybe you can tolerate it in soups or a casserole dish, as long as its disguised by the mixing and mingling of all those other flavors.

Famous for its dark green hue and its deep earthy flavor, kale is well worth including in your weekly repertoire of meals and/or snacks.  One cup of cooked kale has over 300% of your daily value for vitamin A, 50% of your vitamin C and 18% of your calcium.  It’s also a good source of iron and many other micronutrients such as vitamin K and manganese.  Kale, along with many of the other dark green vegetables, has long been recognized as a “super food.”

One of my most favorite ways to eat kale is as a crunchy chip.

(FYI: This has won over many sour faced kale haters.)

YES, they really do come out crunchy.

YES, they’re still healthy.

It’s time to give the humble green veggie another try.

Kale Chips

Be sure to layer the kale on a single layered cookie sheet in order to prevent the kale from becoming soggy instead of crunchy.  I like to serve these as a snack or as a tasty side for my sandwich or soup at lunch.   Squirt a little bit of ketchup on the side for dunking and enjoy!

  • 1 bunch of kale, tough stems discarded and leaves torn into “chip” sizes
  • 1-2 tsp oil
  • garlic powder to taste (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste (optional; I like to limit the use of added sodium and a little goes a long way)
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Toss kale with oil and seasonings; place on a single layer on cookie sheet.
  2. Cook kale for 8 minutes, flipping halfway through.  Check in on kale towards end of cooking time to prevent scorching.  Kale is ready when it’s dry and crispy to the touch.
  3. Enjoy!

QUESTION: Dark greens are full of healthy nutrients.  What’s your favorite dark green veggie and how do you most often prepare it?  Aside from eating kale chips, I eat a lot of sauteed collard greens and roasted brussels sprouts and broccoli…three of my faves. 😀

13 thoughts on “Kale Chips

  1. I love kale!! I got Seth into eating it by preparing it as a chip too. Yesterday was the first time he had tried it in non-chip form (I steamed it and added it to a pasta dish). He seemed to like it that way too! Yes! Nutrition win!
    I usually gravitate toward kale and broccoli, but I’ve also been loving rainbow chard lately.

  2. I love to make pasta with garlic, chard, tomatoes and a squeeze of lemon.
    do kale chips keep? I’d like to make them at night and being them to work the next day…

    • Your pasta dish sounds fabulous!! I’ve honestly never tried making kale chips the night before to see if they hold up. I’ll experiment with this next week…but let me know if you do decide to try it and if it does indeed hold up. That would make for a lovely lunch addition at work! 😀

  3. LOVE kale! My favorite way to cook (and eat) it is taken from The Pioneer Woman’s Cookbook – sauté it with a whole head of garlic, and lots of butter! MMmm-mmm!

  4. Pingback: Kale Chips | Dieting does not exist; changing your lifestyle does!

Leave a Reply

