Meatless Monday

Whew.

What a whirlwind of a day.

I usually see about 7 or 8 NEW patients per day and then several other follow-ups from the weeks before.  Today I saw 12, along with some other consults that pulled me in throughout the day.  It was insane.  I ended up working a 9-hr day but could have stayed later if I wasn’t so wimpy about driving through the snow. 😉

Needless to say, Meatless Monday was kept very, very simple.

A bed of mixed greens.

Cucumbers, carrots, tomatoes.

Kidney beans.

Sunflower seeds, feta cheese, avocado.

And a drizzle of honey and olive oil on top (with a sprinkle of sea salt!)

Salads can be an easy and convenient dinner, especially when you’re just too tired to think about pulling out a pan or a pot.  You could add a scoop of tuna salad, a spoonful of hummus or a fried egg or two on top as well.  This just happens to be my favorite combination of flavors.

On the side, I ate these awesome sweets and beets chips.  Thank goodness they’re not regularly in the house, because I think I’d have a serious portion control problem.  Addicting! 😉

My plans for today?

(1) Yoga. (2) Organize. (3) Apply to the Masters of Science in Applied Nutrition Program!!!

QUESTION: What was your favorite meatless meal and/or snack from the past week??

8 thoughts on “Meatless Monday

  1. 12 patients?! Insane! I hope you’re able to rest after a day like that.
    Your salad looks pretty fantastic.I like the idea of combining sunflower seeds and avocado.
    Most of my meals are meatless these days (more for budgetary reasons than anything else!), but one of my favorites lately is Greek salad with artichoke hearts, roasted peppers, and feta. I can’t get enough of it!

  2. We sometimes have a very similar meal to this, adding kidney beans to a salad for protein so the salad can be a simple main course. Favorite meatless meal this week, probably the polenta torte I made a couple of days ago with a middle layer of pesto, caramelized onions, and vegan cheese (homemade from macadamias, pine nuts, and a few other things).

Leave a Reply

