Meatless Monday

If I could choose one vegetarian meal to eat for the rest of my life, it would be a bowl of baked beans.

They’re so humble.

Yet they’re so ridiculously nutritious and so deeply soothing.  I honestly can’t imagine a rainy, cold day without a bowl of baked beans and a slice or two of my mom’s homemade bread.  This, to me, is comfort food.

The nice thing about beans is that they’re just one of those foods that doesn’t really need meat to make a meat eater happy (fitting into the same category as pizza and macaroni and cheese!)  Yes, you might get a “where’s the pork?” or an “aren’t we having hotdogs too?”  But just pull out a loaf of homemade baked bread from the oven, pat on a little butter and before you know it the house will grow still and quiet.

Really, really.  You’ve got to trust me on this one.

Baked beans are always being cooked and eaten in my house.  At least once a week.  I eat them for breakfast, lunch, dinner.  Sometimes even a snack.

If you’re more inclined to buy a can of baked beans and call it a day, I dare you to first give this recipe a try.  You’ll never go back.  This recipe is as easy as it is delicious.  Enjoy!

Boston Baked Beans

This is the recipe my Memere used whenever she made baked beans, and I treasure it dearly.  We both shared the same affinity for pancakes and beans as a breakfast treat and we also both believed that bacon doesn’t belong in a pot of baked beans.  Which makes this the perfect addition for a Meatless Monday tradition.  Enjoy!

  • 2 c. navy beans
  • 1-2 onions, finely diced
  • 3 T. molasses
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp dry mustard
  • 1/2 c. ketchup
  • 1 T. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 T. packed brown sugar
  1. Soak beans overnight in cold water.  Simmer beans in same water until tender, approximately 1 to 2 hrs.  Beans should be tender but firm.  Drain and reserve liquid.
  2. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
  3. Arrange the beans in a 2 quart bean pot or casserole dish and top with onions.
  4. In a saucepan, combine rest of ingredients.  Bring mixture to a bowl and pour over beans.  Pour in just enough of reserved bean water to cover the beans.  Stir gently with rubber spatula and cover dish with lid or aluminum foil.
  5. Bake for 3 to 4 hrs in preheated oven.  Stir at least every hour.  ENJOY!

QUESTION: Do you have any tried-and-true recipes that have been passed down from parents/grandparents/friends/other relatives? 

9 thoughts on “Meatless Monday

  1. I love baked beans! And I agree that they’re way better without bacon.

    I grew up eating coq au vin that my dad made using my Nana’s recipe, and now I make it for myself all the time. I made a few changes to lighten it up, but it still has the same great flavour that I love!

  2. Bush’s vegetarian baked beans are the best I’ve ever had. But I’m willing to give this one a try because you love it so much. Can’t wait to squeeze it into my schedule!

  3. I have never made baked beans, and haven’t had them for a long time. We have a dish from my great-grandmother in which I can clearly remember my mother baking beans in. For some reason I am remembering that it is specifically used for that, but that is from my 5-year-old recolections, so I may be wrong. I’ll have to pull it out!

    We have a oatmeal cookie recipe from my grandma that was one of my dad’s favorites growing up. As a wedding shower for my mom, my grandma, great-grandma, and both of my aunts sat down and wrote down special/particularly good recipes. This is particularly special to me, because we have recipes in my great-grandmother’s hand, and I never got to meet her.

    • What a wonderful way to carry on your family’s recipes!! I love it! My sister had something similar for her shower, and received recipes from aunts, grandmothers, etc. Those recipes are always the most treasured. 😀

  4. Love this! Your recipe reminds me of my mom’s baked beans recipe that she makes every year for the Fourth of July. As for recipes passed down from relatives, one of my favorites is my great-grandmother’s tea cake recipe that we make for Christmas (I guess we have assigned holidays for all our recipes?). It’s such a light (texture-wise, not Calorie-wise…) treat that I look forward to every year.

  5. Pingback: Good Food: Legumes SamanthaMenzies.com

Leave a Reply

