Simply Breakfast

Yesterday was my final long run before the race next week.

Mind you, my long runs have consisted of 4 and 5 miles.  This is a 5.6 mile race that I’ll be running, which is much different to prepare for than a half marathon or (even!) a 10k, despite how close they are in length.  In addition, my goal is—as dad would say—“just to finish and not to finish last.”  I’m also aiming just to have fun!!  There are no time goals, no PR’s to beet.  I’m just there for the St. Patty’s Celebration and to get a good work out in while I’m at it. 😉

This morning I woke up starved!

Breakfast cookies are one of my favorite “in advance” kinds of breakfasts.  If I know I’ll be busy the next morning OR if I know I”ll be in the mood for something chilled, this breakfast is almost always on the menu.

And now I’m cozying up to a hot cup of coffee before getting ready for the day!  The snow storms seem to have broken here in New England, and the sun is (finally!) coming to warm us all up.  It’s even supposed to reach the 50’s tomorrow!

Breakfast Cookie

There is absolutely no cooking involved with this breakfast cookie!  The texture is soft and chewy, and the possibility of flavors that you want it to have are endless.  Some of my favorites are mocha (add in a Tbsp. cocoa powder + 1 tsp instant coffee powder) and banana-nut (leave out the cocoa and add in x-tra cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves + a small handful of walnuts.)

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 3/4 banana, smashed (save the other 1/4 for topping)
  • 1 Tbsp. peanut butter (used teddie’s super chunky all natural)
  • pinch of salt
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp. cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (or 1 Tbsp. crushed flax)
  • 2-3 Tbsp. soy milk
  • Topping Options: banana slices, small scoop of granola, greek yogurt, walnuts, etc.
  1. Small all of the ingredients together and press down onto plate.  Texture will seem soft but should not be soupy (add more chia seeds or flax if you think you may have added too much milk!)  
  2. Place in fridge overnight and eat the next morning!

 

3 thoughts on “Simply Breakfast

Leave a Reply

