Fitness Friday

Hello, sneakers.  Remember me?

I took the entire week off from any sort of fitness activity last week, due to an unwelcome cold that left me feeling like a deflated balloon.

I know there are a ton of “rules” out there as to figuring out if it’s okay to exercise or not (i.e., “skip working out if you’re sick from the neck down” and “continue your workout if you’re only sick from the neck up–as in a head cold.”)  But my thought process is never that organized.  If I feel like running, I run.  If I feel as if a train hit me and I can’t fathom the idea of running or working out, I don’t.  Simple.

(It’s (more than) okay to rest when your body needs it!)

This past week, I decided to focus more on just getting myself back into the groove of fitness.

Hello, yoga mat.

My one fear of having taken a week off, of course, is that I have a race coming up and (really) not much quality time to prepare.

Ahem.

Let me rephrase that.

I have one week to prepare.  My dad and I signed up for a 5.6 mile St. Patty’s Day Race, which means I need to get my game face on and train/eat smart this coming week.  Wish me luck! 😀

Fitness Friday Recap

Saturday: 2-mile run + 1-mile walk

Sunday: 5-mile walk

Monday: 2-mile run

Tuesday: 3-mile run + yoga

Wednesday: 2-mile run

Thursday: yoga

Friday (today:) rest

QUESTION: What was your favorite fitness activity from this past week?  It felt so crazy good to get back into yoga this past week!!

4 thoughts on “Fitness Friday

  1. I wouldn’t worry about the upcoming race too much. A week off shouldn’t impact your speed noticeably. Maybe you can think of it as a taper? 😉

  2. I just go back into my workout this week, too. I had two weeks off – one in preparing for a men’s conference I was helping with (sleeping in all week since I would be sleep deprived all weekend) and another catching up from the weekend and recovering from being sick. My favorite thing? Just being back into it. I do a mix of weights, dancing, and a little running. I call Fridays “Dance Party Days” because I ditch everything else and just dance the whole time. I love it!

Leave a Reply

