Simply Breakfast

Nothing beats slowly waking up to a brand new day after a night of sound sleep.  I woke up at 6:15am this morning but lounged in bed until around 7am.

It was delicious.

And so was breakfast.

I followed Kath’s Overnight Oats recipe to a T for this morning’s breakfast, except I added an additional 1/3 cup of milk in the morning to thin everything out.  I prefer my oats on the thinner vs. thicker side; this was perfect.

Kath’s Overnight Oats

1/3 cup uncooked oatmeal

1/3 cup yogurt (used low fat, plain Stoneyfield)

1/3 cup milk (used unsweetened soy)

1/2 Tbsp. chia seeds

1/2 banana, sliced thin

dash of cinnamon

dash of salt

Stir together all ingredients and pop in the fridge overnight.  Eat as a chilled breakfast the following morning and top as desired.

Add a little extra milk as desired for thinner consistency.

For toppings, I went with a homemade granola, the other half a banana and a scoop of sunflower butter.  What a fun way to start the day. 😀

Why This Breakfast Works

  • Healthy Fats (chia seeds, sunflower butter)
  • Protein (milk, yogurt, sunflower butter)
  • Healthy Carbohydrates (oatmeal, banana)

QUESTION: What did YOU have for breakfast this morning?

7 thoughts on “Simply Breakfast

  1. Well now I have a HUGE craving for sunflower butter!
    This breakfast looks fantastic–I’ve been looking for interesting ways to eat chia seeds, and this looks like a great use for them. Thanks!

  2. Oh, that’s too funny that you posted this!!! Guess who is making over-night oats tonight for tomorrow’s breakfast… for the first time ever? ME!! 🙂

  3. I haven’t had overnight oats in ages because I always want hot oatmeal in the winters! I love using Kath’s method too.

    This morning for breakfast I had banana egg white oatmeal with chia seeds and cinnamon cooked in, then topped with soy nut butter, more chia seeds, raisins, and sauteed fresh fig. 😀

Leave a Reply

