What I Ate Wednesday #2

Happy Hump Day!!

5:30am

Morning routine: wake up, turn off the alarm, feed Humphrey, feed myself. 😀

I’ve been on an oatmeal kick for days (weeks?) now.  The house tends to be on the chilly side first thing in the morning, so nothing appeals to me quite like a hot bowl of steamy oats.

This was a basic bowl of banana oatmeal, topped with two big scoops of Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter and homemade granola.

6:00am

For half an hour each morning, I allow myself to just relax before rushing around and getting ready for the day.  This morning I read in the Bible, slowly drank my coffee…

…and then laughed at Humphrey who was desperately attempting to destroy his catnip toy.

Tug!!!

Hmmph…no luck.  The catnip bag remains uneaten. 😉

9:00am

After a quick run, I was craving a fresh salad.  I’ve been so into feta cheese lately, and this hit the spot perfectly.

To make a snack-sized salad, I simply halve the portions that I might normally have for a meal.  So that would mean 1/4 cup of beans, a small bowl of mixed greens/tomatoes/cucumbers/red bell peppers and a little feta cheese & dressing.  Delicious.

11:30am

Lunch came early today, as I was feeling exceptionally hungry!

Some of my favorite meals are the traditional ones that have been passed down from my Memere to my mom to me.  My mom made these stuffed green peppers (stuffed with bison and brown rice) for lunch and they were so homey, so delicious.

3:00pm

I had the same snack as yesterday…low fat plain yogurt + grapes + homemade granola.

+ 2 clementines!

5:30p 

Let’s all agree that sardines are just not photogenic.  But that’s what I was in the mood for at dinner and so I just rolled with it. 😉  If you’re a fan of the tiny little fish as well, embrace them!  They’re high in omega-3 fatty acids and are low in mercury.  They’re also incredibly affordable.

If, on the other hand, you feel queasy just thinking about sardines, don’t be disheartened.  Try a recipe that includes cooking them in a unique new way (grilled, mixed with pasta, etc,) and you may be end up surprising yourself!

On the side, I included two Ezekiel toasts with butter and a green smoothie for some veggies (2 large handfuls of kale + 1 juicy orange + scoop of granola.)

+ Dessert, which was a Canadian Maple Leaf Cookie.

I am literally exhausted tonight!!  Work was busy, busy, busy and I am so ready to just grab a magazine and relax for the rest of the night…

Hope you all had a happy, happy Hump Day!

QUESTION: What was your favorite thing eaten today?

7 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #2

  1. I love the idea of having a small salad as a snack! I’m all for another excuse to eat some veggies.
    My favorite thing that I ate today was probably some roasted chickpeas–I just tossed them with cayenne + chili powder for a barbecue-ish flavor. Great snack!

  2. Sardines are awesome. I can see why people don’t like them because they do taste and smell fishy, but I really enjoy them from time to time. It’s a nice alternative to tuna when you want canned fish. I also like kipper as well.

    Maple leaf cookies are the best!

Leave a Reply

