WIAW #1

I figured it was time to jump in on the bandwagon… 😉

Peas and Crayons

Have you ever woken up and felt absolutely, 100% refreshed?  Confident and ready for whatever life might throw your way?

That was this morning.  It was lovely.

Breakfast:

For breakfast, I had two boiled eggs, 2 Ezekiel toasts with a smidgen of peanut butter (toasted) and two clementines.

And, despite feeling super energetic, I took a day of exercise rest.  It does the body good now and then (i.e., at least once a week!)

As many of you know, I work part time as a dietitian at a rehab hospital.  Three days a week, I make a 50 minute commute to work.  I kind of like this time to relax a little before my day starts and ends.  I turn on some music, sip my water or tea and think about all the things I want to get done for the day.

On the way, I had a handful of chocolate almonds and a banana.  Breakfast was early this morning (5:30am,) so this snack fit in around 8:00am when my stomach was starting to beg for a second breakfast. 😉

AM Snack:

Work was super busy today.  Lots of people with small bowel obstructions and fractures!  Always fractures.  Another reason to make sure you’re eating plenty of calcium rich foods, plenty of veggies (very important for strong bones!) and getting an adequate supply of vitamin D!  Many fractures could also easily be prevented by good balance, which is one of the (many) reasons why I’m such a huge advocate for yoga!

Morning Cup of (decaf) Joe w/ a splash of whole milk:

I took my lunch around 11:30am.  A can of Amy’s Low Sodium Split Pea Soup (love this for a quick lunch option!), low-sodium triscuit crackers, and a dish of black olives, tomatoes, cucumbers.  I noshed on some extra veggies while working throughout the afternoon too.

Lunch:

Lately, my afternoon work snack has been a dish of oatmeal with some sort of nut butter (sunflower being my current fave!)  Working at a hospital means that there is constantly food hanging around.  Patients’ families like to thank the staff with all sorts of goodies.  It’s nice, but when you constantly have chocolate chip cookies and chocolate fudge and gourmet candies in front of you all day long, it can be a little much.

Since I have a major sweet tooth, I like to curb it off with making sure that I have something carb-based in the afternoon.  Oatmeal is “comfort food” to me, so having a dish of it planned for the afternoon prevents me from nibbling on chocolate chip cookies throughout the afternoon. 😉

Afternoon Snack (1/4 cup oats, 1/2 cup unsweetened soymilk, cinnamon, sunflower butter)

The day literally flew by.  Being busy has its perks! 😀

Dinner tonight was a recipe from Eating Well Magazine:  Sesame-Maple Roasted Tofu (recipe below.)  The sauce was delicious and next time I’ll be doubling it so that there’s more to pour on top after everything is roasted.  And maybe add in extra veggies like red bell peppers and baby bella mushrooms!

We served this over quinoa with side salads.

Dinner:

Leftover Christmas butter cookies for dessert!

Dessert:

And my nightly snack?

Well.

Chobani had everything to do with that one.  Look at this awesome package they delivered to my door!

Complete with this adorable spoon…

A note of joy to all you Chobani lovers…there are a ton of new flavors coming out.  Including Key Lime Pie and Pear!

Tonight, I chose the 2% Banana.  It was amazing.  If you love, love, love bananas then you will love, love, love this chobani flavor.  I already have plans to smother this atop a plate of peanut butter pancakes.

YUM.

PM Snack:

Sorry, Humphrey.  These are all mine. 😉

I’m so happy to be in my pj’s and snuggling with Mr. Humphrey after a busy day of work.

Happy Hump Day!

Sesame-Maple Roasted Tofu–adapted from an Eating Well Recipe

Double up on this delicious sauce and add extra veggies as desired.  This is super easy to throw together.  Serve over brown rice or quinoa.

Serves 3-4

  • 1 14-ounce block extra-firm water-packed tofu, rinsed, patted dry and cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1 medium red onion, sliced
  • 2 teaspoons canola oil
  • 2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1 tablespoon sunflower seed butter (or tahini or peanut butter)
  • 1 tablespoon reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons pure maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon cider vinegar
  • 3 cups sugar snap peas, trimmed
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds
  1. Preheat oven to 450°F.
  2. Toss tofu, onion, canola oil, sesame oil, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Spread on a large baking sheet and roast until the tofu is lightly golden on top and the onions are browning in spots, 15 to 20 minutes.
  3. Whisk sunflower butter, soy sauce, maple syrup and vinegar in a small dish until combined. Remove the tofu from the oven, add snap peas and drizzle with the maple sauce; stir to combine. Sprinkle with sesame seeds. Return to the oven and continue roasting until the peas are crisp-tender, 8 to 12 minutes more.

Question: Favorite meal/snack of the day?

11 thoughts on “WIAW #1

    • Chobani was kind enough to email me about their new flavors and asked if I’d be willing to sample. Of course, I said yes! 😉 I’m a big chobani fan but almost always buy their 2% plain, so it’s fun trying some new flavors. 😀

  1. What a delicious day of food! I just had a bowl of oatmeal as a pm snack too–topped with some homemade applesauce and almonds 🙂
    I have a shipment of Chi headed my way too, and I can’t wait to try it!

  2. Is the banana flavor new too? I don’t think I’ve ever tried that one, and it sounds delish!!! 🙂 Loved reading what you ate…. I could learn a thing or two about being organized with snacks and lunches. Ha, ha.

  3. You’re definitely well prepared with food for your working hours. I on the other hand end up rushing around like a mad woman in the morning trying to pull something together for lunch.

Leave a Reply

