Meatless Monday

We all know there are benefits to eating a well balanced vegetarian diet.  The good news, for those of us who still love our meat, is that we can indulge in these benefits without going completely veggie.

(1) Incorporate bigger portions and more variety of veggies and fruits, daily.

(2) Eat smaller portions of meat when you do have it (think of the meat as an accent to your meal instead of the main item.)  And choose lean cuts of meat more often when you do eat meat.

(3) Include more whole grains.  Whole grains have all sorts of health benefits (think whole wheat bread, quinoa, oatmeal, etc.)

(4) Try more meatless meals without giving up meat completely…starting with “Meatless Monday!”

Choose this as one day out of the week when you will opt to have no meat for the entire day.  And then just have fun with it!  Explore new cuisines, new tastes, new ideas.  You may just find that you want this to carry on for more than just one day.

Today I found myself in the mood for tempeh.

Tempeh is..really…fermented soybeans.

(Eeps!)

But please don’t let that scare you off.  I find the texture and taste of tempeh to be incredibly appealing.  It has almost a nutty flavor and lends a nice “bite,” which is fabulous in many oriental inspired dishes.

Tempeh also doesn’t require the pressing time that its close cousin–aka, tofu–does.  Which means it’s incredibly quick and easy to throw together.  Just heat and serve!

Check out the great nutrition stats as well!  It’s chock full of protein and fiber, low in sodium, and high in potassium.

I like to get experimental with Meatless Mondays.

Thai food.

Pizza.

Mediterranean cuisine.

But some days I just roll with what I know will work.  Tempeh is one of my “go-to’s.”  I just fry it up in a little bit of canola oil, add a splash of low sodium soy sauce and voila!  Dinner is served.

Steamed broccoli and oven roasted red potatoes completed the meal.

(These potatoes were super easy — 3lbs of diced potatoes + 2 Tbsp. olive oil + 1/2 tsp each of garlic powder and rosemary in a 425 degree oven for 20-25 minutes = delicious!)

I plan on sharing more meatless monday meals, including breakfasts, lunches, dinners, etc.

But I’d also love to hear from you!  Email me your pictures/stories/ideas/recipes at thesimpledietitian@gmail.com!

Happy Monday! 😀

4 thoughts on “Meatless Monday

  1. I don’t eat tempeh (I’m allergic to soy), but this morning I had a pot of eggs on the stove to have hard boiled eggs for the next few days, and right now a pot of kidney beans is going on the stove. I’m all about having easy vegetarian protein sources, and lately have been buying dried beans to save money and stock up!

  2. I found a recipe for tempeh that I want to try… I’m going to show the hubby all the great nutrition factors and hope that he will try it, since he is on a health kick. Wish me luck! LOL!!

Leave a Reply

