Simply Breakfast.

I am on such an oatmeal kick these days!

Microwaved oats, that is!

I realize that many oatmeal connoisseurs would balk at the idea of microwaved oats, but in my experience, they taste just like stovetop oats–with half the preparation time.

The secret(s) to a really good bowl of microwaved oats?

(1) Place the mix-ins inside a very large microwaveable bowl.  You don’t want any spill overs to ruin a perfectly good morning!  My recent favorite mix-ins (as shown this morning): 1/2 cup old fashioned oats, 1 cup unsweetened soy milk, 1/2 thinly sliced banana, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1 Tbsp crushed flax seed, dash or two of salt

(2) Stir vigorously half-way through cooking time (about 3-4 minutes total cooking time, depending on microwave.)  Attack those oats as if you were beating an egg.

(3)  Add your favorite toppings.  We all know its the toppings that make the oatmeal.  Add a scoop of peanut butter for some healthy fats.  Or a sprinklin’ of coconut.  Cranberries, sunflower seeds, granola and fresh berries are just some other ideas to get you going.

When all is said and done, there are still those days when I make stovetop oats.  Because way back in my brain, I’ve convinced myself that this is the most pure take on a delicious bowl of oatmeal.

But then, I come back to my senses and realize that I don’t have the time to whip up a bowl of stovetop oats on a work day.  And since the microwaved oats have shown their true, delicious self, I don’t have to.

Here’s to yet another delicious morning!

6 thoughts on “Simply Breakfast.

  1. Oats are the best. They are warming, filling and good for the body. I make mine very basic at home with simply water, cinnamon and a few raisins. But when we travel, I think the hotels make theirs with milk because they seem creamier. I indulge 🙂

  2. Here’s another idea for oatmeal: overnight steel-cut oats. Start them at night, use a timer so the crockpot turns off after 7 hr, about an hour before waking.
    http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/overnight_oatmeal.html

    My crockpot is smaller so I cut the recipe in half. I leave out the cranberries (they don’t do well cooking so long) and add later if I feel like them. I do stir in a teaspoon of vanilla into the whole batch when it’s done.

    The remainder can be reheated another day. I also portion leftovers into multiple small containers and bring it to work. My favorite topping is apple butter.

Leave a Reply

