Fitness Fridays

This morning I rolled out of bed, shuffled to the kitchen and squinted my eyes a couple of times while staring at the thermometer.

Negative eight.

Squint, squint.

Still negative eight.

I decided to hold off for several hours before attempting a run.  Thank goodness I did, because it warmed up to a quite toasty 6 degress. 😉

A lot of people have been asking me lately how I manage to run through the winter. My answer is pretty simple.

(1) I can’t afford a gym membership, so this isn’t even an option!

(2) 80% of my mood is dependent on whether or not I had some form of movement throughout the day.  In other words, it’s crucial!  For me and for the people around me. 😉

(3) The right running gear is everything!

Case in point…I’m not afraid to look really, really silly when going out for a really, really cold run! 😉  The more layers, the better.  I always wear my knee length wool socks, Nike running tights, a long sleeved T-shirt, a long sleeved fleece, and a wind breaker on top.  I also wear a wool hat on semi-cold days and a balaclava which keeps my entire face warm on those days when the wind is as fierce as the temperatures.

But, do I enjoy winter running?

Yes and no.

Some days, it takes every ounce of motivation to get myself out the front door.  But usually I can convince myself that I only need to run one mile and everything else will be counted as extra.  Once I’m outside, I always run at least two miles to make it worth the extra effort that it took for me to get outside in the first place. 😉

And I kind of like feeling as if I’m the first to witness the rising of the morning sun, as it makes its proud declaration, “don’t worry, world, I’m still here.”

When I came back from my run, I made a super sized salad…

Lettuce, Garbanzos, Pumpkin and Sunflower Seeds, Avocado, Black Olives, Tomato, Cucumber, Avocado, Carrot, Snap Peas.

There was also a Dr. Praegger’s Veggie Burger on the side, with a scoop of hummus and a glass of soy milk.  Chilly weather + Run = Hungry Girl. 😉

Fitness Friday Recap

Saturday: 4-mile run

Sunday: 3-mile walk

Monday: 2-mile run

Tuesday: 2-mile run + Yoga/Strength

Wednesday: 2-mile run

Thursday: Yoga/Strength

Friday (today): 4-mile run

QUESTION: How do you manage to stay active in the winter?  I like to keep on running, but I also like to mix it up with snowshoeing as often as possible.  If the weather is really bad, I’ll stay indoors and do a circuit workout of burpees, squats and other such exercises.  This kind of fast-paced workout gets my heart pumping while toning my entire body. 😀

4 thoughts on “Fitness Fridays

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one crazy enough to go out in the bitter cold! Aspen needs a walk so I bundle up and head on out. I also have a gym membership for myself but love walking outside.

  2. First of all, I love your hat! 🙂 Second of all, I just plain can’t run in the cold, even though I wish I could. But now that I have a treadmill, I can run in my basement…well, once the knee heals up. Ha, ha. I can’t wait to go on walks around the neighborhood with you this spring / summer!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

