Tofu Scramble.

For the second time in the past two months, I have the case of the common cold.

Sore throat.  Heavy head.  Runny nose.  The whole shebang.

Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how you look at it,) I never visit the doctor for this sort of thing.  I just eat my oranges, drink plenty of foods, and lay as low as possible.

This “day off” from life and responsibility gave me plenty of time to cook, since I didn’t have to be anywhere but here.

Really, I had all the time in the world; I could have kneaded a loaf of bread, prepared my own pasta or at least baked a batch of cookies.  But instead, in a bout of my typical atypical fashion, I pulled out a block of tofu and made a veggie scramble.

This recipe is easy.  So, so easy.  Almost too easy, in fact, to be worth mentioning.

But, as you’ll discover, tofu scrambles are indeed worth mentioning.  They make complete sense of solo cooking, while also providing an option for those “it’s past 5 o’clock and I don’t feel like cooking for the family” nights.

On the off chance that I’m cooking for one, I normally resort to (a) cereal, (b) veggie burgers or (c) french toast.  Scrambled tofu, however, completely understands the solo cooking conundrum.  Aside from being non-fussy and quick (with very minimal dishes for the after effect,) the recipe also makes fantastic leftovers.  Roll the scramble into a whole wheat wrap, top with salsa and/or avocado, and give yourself a high-five for starting the day with a delicious boost of protein and veggies.

So there you have it.

Scrambled tofu.

For one or many.

Ridiculously quick and easy.  Which leaves me with plenty of time and opportunity, so maybe I will make that batch of cookies after all.

Off to blend some butter ‘n’ oats.  Happy Saturday!

Scrambled Tofu – adapted from the Clean Food Cookbook

(Serves 3-4; double as desired)

  • 2 Tbsp. olive or canola oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1 cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 (12oz) extra firm tofu
  • 1 Tbsp. soy sauce
  1. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, cook onion and bell pepper in oil for about 3-5 minutes.  Add carrot and mushrooms; cook for another 3 minutes.  Crumble tofu with hands into the pan; crush further with spoon as needed to meet desired texture (should look like scrambled eggs at this point.)  Add soy sauce and cook for another 3 minutes.  

QUESTION: When you have the time to cook whatever your heart desires, what is first on your list?  I like to bake my Memere’s recipe for Peanut Butter Thumb-Print Cookies.

7 thoughts on “Tofu Scramble.

  1. Oh I love it! It is so hard to get the motivation to actually cook something when it is only for one person… Many thanks, and I hope you feel better soon.
    And out of curiosity, why do you use tofu instead of eggs?

    • No reason, other than I love tofu! I like to use eggs for scrambles as well, but this makes a nice change of taste. You could definitely mix or match depending on what you’re most in the mood for. 😀

Leave a Reply

