A Bowl Of Soup.

New England thinks it’s winter.

Apparently.

This morning, there seemed to be shimmery, sparkly fairy dust sprinkling all around the yard.  Little bits, here and there.

And then, magically—two or three hours later—we were left with this.  A thin layer of crisp winter white.

Getting ready for work today, I finally donned my winter boots.  I’m a “flats” girl; I wear them as long as I possibly can, no matter what the temperature might be.

I decided, however, that since snow was officially on the ground, that this was enough reason to toss the flats and pull on the boots.

Sigh.

I surrender.

On the up side, snowy days are also enough reason to pull on some slippers (after work) and to make big batches of soup

In the world of comforting soups, this soup is right at the heart of my favorites.

My mom used to make this vegetarian black bean soup for my family all the time.  I loved it as a kid and I love it even more as an adult.  This soup quite literally carried me through many of my college days, as I would bring it with me in a thermos for lunch.   Feeling the warmth of the steam hit my face, after trudging through snow (and..cough, cough…chemistry) was such a blissful feeling.  That very first bite felt like a giant, heartfelt hug after a really tough day.  Nothing could beat it.   Nothing.

And with today’s fresh, chilly snow fall, this soup felt so absolutely right.

I hope that wherever you might be, that you’re warm and safe and dry.

I also hope that you plan on pulling on some fuzzy slippers and making big batches of soup.

Let it be vegetarian black bean soup.

I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Vegetarian Black Bean Soup

My mom’s heartwarming recipe.  Quite simple.  Tried and true.

If you like a kick to your soup, add some extra hot sauce.  If you’re looking for ways to add greens, throw in a few handfuls of baby spinach about a minute or two before serving.  Enjoy!

1 cup chopped onion
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 can (14-1/2 ounces) vegetable broth, divided
2 cans (15 ounces each) black beans, rinsed and drained
1 cup diced peeled potato
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1 can (14-1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes, undrained
1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
2 green onions, sliced

In a saucepan, bring the onion, garlic and 1/4 cup broth to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 6-8 minutes or until onion is tender. Stir in the beans, potato, thyme, cumin and remaining broth; return to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 20-25 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

Stir in tomatoes and hot pepper sauce; heat through. Sprinkle with green onions.

5 thoughts on “A Bowl Of Soup.

Leave a Reply

