At Home In The Kitchen.

Have you ever read a cozy little food blog and found yourself thinking, “I wish I thought like that”?

I have.

I’ve read my way through the most rustic, charming kitchens to the point where I could almost smell the mushrooms’ earthiness wafting through my computer screen.

And I’ve said just those words.  I wish.  

wish I thought like that.

wish I cooked like that.

wish, I wish, I wish…

But then.

When I get home from a busy day of working – a day of chaos and real life – I wouldn’t want to be in any place other than my very own kitchen.

The carved wooden spoon feels right in my hand.

The background music is as it should be.

The sauteed onions look and smell perfect.

At work, I serve people.  I help them discover confidence and motivation.  I encourage, I strengthen, I pull and I prod.  I offer a crying shoulder, a listening ear and sometimes a tuna sandwich.

But.

In my kitchen?

I am alone.  I am here completely for me.  To cook and to smell and to taste.  To experience something grand and delicious.  Completely, 100%, for me.

There’s something magical about my kitchen.

And I can guarantee you that there’s something magical about yours too.

You can make a mess.  You can cause some chaos.  You can dance and sing and laugh.  You can spill a big scoop of flour and not even care.

(Your cat can even be your sous chef…preferably when there is no company expected for dinner tonight!)

It doesn’t matter that your kitchen isn’t perfect.

It doesn’t matter that you’re not perfect.

It doesn’t matter that the water is boiling over.

It doesn’t matter.

What matters is that you’re home.  You’re cooking.  You’re in your own kitchen after a long busy day and now you’re unwinding.  With a spoon, a pot, and your favorite ingredients.

This is your territory.  Enjoy it.

Pasta with Kale, Caramelized Onions and Parsnips

(serves 4-6)

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 pound diagonally cut parsnips
  • 2 1/2 cups very thinly sliced onion
  • 1 tablespoon chopped dried thyme
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 8 cups trimmed chopped kale
  • 1/2 cup low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 8 ounces uncooked penne pasta
  • 1/2 cup (2 ounces) shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1. Heat 1 Tbsp. oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat.  Add parsnip to pan; cook 12 minutes or until tender and browned, stirring occasionally.  Place in a large bowl; keep warm.

2. Heat remaining 1 Tbsp. oil in pan over medium-low heat.  Add onion to pan; cook 20 minutes or until tender and golden brown, stirring occasionally.  Stir in thyme and garlic; cook 2 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add wine; cook 3 minutes or until liquid almost evaporates. Stir in kale and broth; cook covered, 5 minutes or until kale is tender.  Uncover; cook 4 minutes or until kale is very tender, stirring occasionally.

3.  Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat.  Drain pasta.  Add drained pasta to kale mixture.  Stir in parsnips, cheese, salt and pepper.  Cook for 1 minute or until heated thorough.  Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “At Home In The Kitchen.

  1. I agree with you! I love spending some quality one on one time with my kitchen. My favorite time is the early morning — before the rest of the world is up an moving. Maybe that’s why I love breakfast so much!

  2. Hey Sarah! I found your blog again. I moved to a new site too. 🙂 (And to a new state – I’m now living in Vermont.)

    I love adding kale to all kinds of things – I’ve been buying big bags of it pre-cut, and add it to almost every dinner I cook.

Leave a Reply

