Sarah’s Simple Saturday

After working every single Saturday for the past two months, it felt so crazy good to have today completely freed up.  A Saturday with absolutely (100%!!) no plans on the agenda; sigh…  

I had planned on sleeping late this morning but my body clock woke me up at 6:00am.  No use fighting it!

Breakfast this morning was simply 1/2 cup oatmeal, 1 sliced banana, 1 cup vanilla soy milk, and lots of cinnamon cooked for 5 minutes in the microwave.  I topped it off with two big scoops of peanut butter and some strawberries on the side.

Morning Snack: 2 juicy clementines and a handful of walnuts

I’ve had this cold/flu for exactly one week now, and I’m finally reaching the point where I actually feel like I can be physically active without getting overly winded.  Even taking the stairs has felt excruciating up until this point.  I’m still recovering and I honestly still feel pretty week.  But for the first time in a week, I actually enjoyed getting active!

2-miles walking, 3-miles running.  I walked those two miles with Dad.  We had an interesting discussion about stocks, bonds and retirement planning!

I love this walking/running path.  It’s so scenic and enjoyable.

By the time I got back from walking/running, my stomach was rumbling.  Lunch time!

I tossed together a quick salad of random veggies from the fridge.

In the mix: mixed baby greens, carrot, roasted brussels sprouts and parsnips, snap peas, red bell pepper, cukes, pickled beets, tomatoes, garbanzo beans, avocado, poppy seed dressing.

I also added a scoop of this sweet pumpkin mash.  Pumpkin + raisins + sea salt + molasses.  It’s delicious spread on slices of crunchy toast, which is exactly what I did.

This salad was filled with fall flavor!

Immediately after eating, I changed from sneakers to flats and headed out for some retail therapy!

Afternoon snacks on the run: a grande soy au-lait…

…and a yummy vegan pumpkin muffin.

Recipe to come!

I went out for a new book and a new pair of shoes but returned with one item: Bob’s Red Mill whole wheat couscous.

Hmm.

Oh well.  It truly did make my dinner tonight.

Whole Wheat Pearl Couscous lends such a fun texture.  And it cooks up in just under 20 minutes.  I need to include more of this cute little pasta into my meal repertoire. 😀

On top of the couscous, I had roasted honey root veggies (combine: 1 sweet potato, 2 parsnips, 1/2 turnip, 2 carrots, 2-3 leeks, 1/4 cup honey, 2 Tbsp. olive oil, sea salt.)  The veggies were diced and roasted in a hot, hot, hot oven (450 degrees) for about 25 minutes.  So sweet, so delicious.

On the side, there was sauteed dinosaur kale with garlic & diced tomatoes and a simple kidney bean salad (combine and refrigerate: 2 cans kidney beans, 2 Tbsp. red wine vinegar, 1 Tbsp. olive oil, 1 Tbsp. ketchup, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, parsley.)

Plus dessert!

I’ve been working on this box of Godiva’s Dark Chocolates since my birthday, and as of tonight, it’s now completely consumed.  Time to find a new dark chocolate to start working on.  No night is complete without something sweet. 😀

I am now finishing off the day with (a) a bowl of ezekiel cereal and warm soy milk (b) a warm cozy Humphrey and (c) a hopefully good book!

Happy Saturday, everyone!

10 thoughts on “Sarah’s Simple Saturday

  1. Lovely, thanks for doing some “work” on your day off 🙂
    Btw, could you post the picture for that pumpkin mash? Sounds delish (even though it looked a little funky). Ever give your cat pumpkin? Mine love it. Cheers!

      • Thanks for asking! It was actually quite simple. For about two cups of cooked pumpkin (you can use canned, but roasted sugar pumpkin goes a long way in flavor!), add 1 Tbsp. molasses, about 1/2 tsp cinnamon, about 3 Tbsp. raisins and a smidgen of butter or butter alternative (optional.) I then heated it all up over low heat until the ingredients were well incorporated. It’s tasty warm or cold. 😀

  2. I love reading your blog but I’ve never commented before. I am going to school now to become a dietician as you did. Thank you for your informative posts! I love how balanced your eats are. You are an excellent role model. 🙂

Leave a Reply

