Simply Lunch

When it’s just me, myself and I in the house…

(oh, sorry, and my silly tuxedo cat Humphrey, who apparently wants to be the new icon for Amazon…)

…I like to keep meal preparation as simple as possible by making big batches of my favorite foods.  And then I eat this same meal throughout the week.

Sometimes I even eat that same meal for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  

(I never did claim to be too fancy, too gourmet for that sort of thing!)

This would be especially true for this dish, which I will make multiple times throughout summer and early autumn.  It’s filled with fresh, nutritious ingredients, and I just love the light and lemony flavor imparted by the vinaigrette.

As luck would have it, I just so happen to have a bumper crop of tomatoes and cucumbers sitting around right now too, which makes this dish even more appealing.

And there you have it.  Simply lunch.

From my kitchen to yours, I hope you enjoy.  For breakfast, lunch or dinner, if that’s your kind of thing (as it is mine.)  I promise I won’t tell.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad – as seen in the “Must Have Been Something I Ate” Cookbook
(Gluten Free, FODMAP friendly, Vegan-use nutritional yeast in place of feta cheese)

(Served 2-3) 

Double this recipe if you’d like leftovers for the week!

  • 2 cups cooked white quinoa
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 cup cucumber, diced
  • 1/2 cup black olives, pitted and chopped
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled (optional)
  • 3 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • sea salt to taste
  • Pinch fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • Juice of 1/4 lemon
  1. Add all ingredients to a bowl and mix well.  Enjoy!

QUESTION: What are you packing for lunch these days?

8 thoughts on “Simply Lunch

    • About 1 cup would make a good serving size for most people (depending on activity level, energy needs, hunger levels, etc.) I usually make a big, crunchy salad on the side as well. 😀

  1. I always loved how our cat found her way into every container around…especially bags and boxes : ) My lunch as been grilled leftovers this summer. Tomorrow (yes I am in class and have to pack a lunch) I will have tonight’s leftovers of fish, sweet potato, and grilled veggies….delish!

  2. Pingback: Dietitian Flash-Back (and Fitness Friday!) | The Simple Dietitian

Leave a Reply

