I Could Eat It By The Bowlful.

Dear Granola, I could (I can, I do) eat you by the bowlful.

Granola is just one of those foods that makes me swoon with utter delight.  Yep.  It’s right up there with lemony garlic olives, medjool dates, sourdough bread and smoked salmon (preferably not all in the same meal…although, who knows?)

Unfortunately, most of the commercial granola’s lining up the grocery isles are packed to the brim with more than just flavor.  Granola is oftentimes a very dense source of sugar, fats, and calories.

So, long story short, if you’re like me and think granola is just the next best thing since sliced english muffins, then you’ll be happy to cook up this recipe!

My brother’s girlfriend shared this recipe on her blog No Gluten, Yes Vegan.  I knew I had to try it as soon as she posted it.

The recipe is completely up my alley.  (She had me at the word “crunchy!”)

And I liked the nutrition side to this granola as well.  Very little sugar.  No added oils (just whole foods in the form of nuts, flax and peanut butter.)  High in protein and fiber.  Flavor galore.

I couldn’t wait until breakfast to test out the granola, so I poured a little into a bowl, sliced up some bananas and poured on some unsweetened almond milk.

First thought: crunch.

Second thought: subtly sweet.

Third thought: addicting.

Final thought: granola, as always, I love you.

Homemade Granola - as seen on No Gluten, Yes Vegan

Kelsey recommends serving this with fresh fruit and almond milk in the morning for breakfast.  I like her thinking and plan on doing just that!  This would also be delicious served with warm milk and mixed berries.  The options are endless!

  • 4 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (original version calls for brown rice syrup but I improvised with what I had on hand!)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 6 Tbps. unsalted peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup flax meal
  • 1 cup millet (uncooked)
  • 1 cup almonds (original version calls for slivered; I used whole, as this is what I had on hand)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • cinnamon and nutmeg to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 325.
  2. Line one very large baking sheet with parchment paper.
  3. In a large bowl combine dry ingredients.
  4. In a small bowl, combine wet ingredients.
  5. Combine wet and dry ingredients.
  6. Spread mixture over the parchment paper and place in preheated oven.
  7. Bake for 20-25 minutes, stirring once half way through.
  8. Let cool for 10-15 minutes before serving/storing.  Store in an airtight container.

Nutrition notes: Makes about 9 cups.  A 3/4 cup serving size provides 320calories, 10g protein and 7g fiber.

5 thoughts on “I Could Eat It By The Bowlful.

  1. I didn’t realize you’re one big blogging family!

    I can’t do granola because my jaw doesn’t like crunchy or chewy things. It’s sad because I really do like it and this recipe sounds so good! You’ll have to eat some more for me! :)

  2. I love granola too! I went through a kick last year where I made a huge batch every week because my husband and I were eating through it so quickly, haha! I have to limit my refined sugar intake because of a heart condition so it can be difficult to find granola in a store that is both affordable and not full of processed stuff. So I like making it at home. Your recipe looks delicious! :)

    • I definitely go through my kicks too, haha! And I agree, store bought granola can be so pricey AND so full of icky ingredients. Plus, homemade always seems to taste better, so it’s a win, win, win. :D

Leave a Reply

