Naragansett Half Marathon

I love racing.

Mind you, I don’t actually race.  People pass me left and right and I simply wave and tell them good job.  There isn’t a competitive bone in my body when it comes to running.

I do, however, love racing.  For the simple fact of getting together with hundreds and sometimes thousands of other people who enjoy doing the exact same thing as I do.

I love training and seeing my mileage slowly increase week by week.  I love it.

Dad and I, somewhat on a whim and prayer, decided to start training for the Naragansett Half Marathon in Easton, MA, which just so happened to be 12 weeks away from when we started running our long runs.

We followed Hal Higdon’s Novice 1 Plan to a T.  Dad felt he would have liked to run longer and probably would have felt more prepared for today than what the plan had us do.  I, on the other hand, felt this plan was ideal for my injury prone body.  I wanted to finish.  That was my goal. ;)

When we first arrived at the race, we had about an hour to kill, so I read, stretched and tried to keep my mind as occupied as I could!

I also had fun looking through the goodie bags.  YAY for new t-shirts! :D

Race day heated up to 86 degrees and I was certainly pushing my limits at certain points of the race.  Thankfully, whenever I felt that the heat had finally gotten to me, there was a sprinkler to run through!  The people of Easton were so supportive and helpful, and I seriously don’t think I could have made it without them!

(that’s dad waving and I’m in the gray t-shirt behind him!)

Up to Mile 5, I was feeling pretty good.  And then at Mile 7, my right knee began to hurt (a reminder of my ITBS!!!)  I really wanted to break 2 hours, but I decided against it and just focused on enjoying the run.  I walked through the 6 water stations, stretched out my legs at each one and took a couple moments to enjoy the view now and then.

So, all in all, I’m happy with that time!  But I’m even more happy that I enjoyed it. :D

Dad, on the other hand, broke the 2 hr. mark.  He’s crazy like that. ;)

I found the race to be difficult, but mostly because of the heat.  There were several hills, but nothing crazy.  And the support was HUGE.  The town came together to help out, the volunteers were motivating and helpful, and everything felt so well organized.

After the race was done, we watched the award ceremony and then took off to Panera for some sandwiches and lemonade.  And icecream afterwards too (it was national ice cream day, after all!)

So hot.  So tired.  So HAPPY. :D

What a fun day!!  And now it’s time to take some time off from running to let my body (and brain!) recover.  :D

11 thoughts on “Naragansett Half Marathon

  1. I always love your posts and how you seem to enjoy life! Glad you were safe during that hot race – heat can be brutal in circumstances like those. Take care of that IT band ;)

  2. Congratulations! That’s a big accomplishment!! So I figure you now feel one of two ways… 1) you want to run another half marathon immediately or 2) you don’t even want to THINK about running a long distance for several weeks! Which is it?! ;)

    • Haha!! A lil’ of both, actually! I am itching to train again but at the same time, my legs are having none of that! I think I need to take the break for my own good. ;)

  3. Pingback: Top 10 of 2013 | The Simple Dietitian

Leave a Reply

