Cheese Quesadillas

In my purse, you will always find (a) wallet, (b) cell phone (c) a few pens (d) a notebook for keeping track of my budget (e) gum or mints and (f) a snack.

That (f) snack is usually a simple baggie of almonds.  Maybe a trail mix of sorts.  Or some Mary’s Gone Crackers for when the munchies hit.  My body feels at its best when I can eat every 3-4 hours, and I like to stay prepared for those times when lunch comes late or when I’m at work longer than anticipated.

So, yes.  You could say that my snacks stay pretty consistent.

Except fort when I’m home.  That’s when I like to mix things up a little…

I found these brown rice tortillas at Trader Joe’s a couple months ago and have fallen in love with them.

Why?

They make for an awesome cheese quesadilla. ;)

These wraps are decently low in sodium (160mg per wrap) and have 2g protein and 2g fiber per wrap as well.  I like to amp up that protein/fiber level by adding cheese and tomatoes.

Now that all those fresh veggies are popping up at farmer’s markets (and perhaps your own backyard!), feel free to go all crazy with the amount of vegetables you add.  Sauteed kale or spinach would also be a nice addition.

In addition to falling in love with these brown rice tortillas, I’ve also fallen in love with chives.

Chives are ridiculously easy to grow and spread like wild fire (i.e., find some people who will take a few plants off your hands in the next couple of years after planting them!)  Chopped up into a million and one little pieces, chives add such pizzazz to any savory dish or snack.

Cheese Quesadilla (Gluten Free, Low FODMAP)

(Serves 1)

Serve with a dab of plain greek yogurt, salsa and/or guacamole if desired.  Although I enjoy this for a snack, it also makes a nice side for a bowl of soup or a freshly tossed salad.  Enjoy!

  • 1 Trader Joe’s Brown Rice Tortilla (or whole wheat alternative)
  • 1 Slice of Swiss Cheese
  • 4-6 thin slices of tomato, dabbed with a paper towel to remove extra liquid
  • chives
  • cooking spray
  1. Coat a nonstick frying pan with cooking spray.  Heat to medium.
  2. Slice the cheese in half and place each half on one side of the tortilla.  Top with tomato slices so that tomatoes cover the entire half of a tortilla.  Fold tortilla in half and place on pre-heated frying pan.
  3. Cook for 3-5 minutes.  Flip.  Continue to cook for another 3-5 minutes or until golden browned and cheese has melted.  Top with chives and enjoy!

QUESTION: What are your favorite snacks “to-go”?  How about when you’re home?

7 thoughts on “Cheese Quesadillas”

  1. I will definitely have to keep an eye out for those brown rice tortillas–they sound delicious!
    My favorite on-the-go snacks include trail mix, whole fruit, and string cheese. When I’m at home, I like to make a small plate of cheese, crackers, and berries!

  2. Yum! I don’t really have a go-to snack, which is kind of sad! LOL! Although lately, I have been loving raisins mixed with a few peanuts and a sprinkling of dark chocolate chips. :)

  3. Ziploc bags of: raw broccoli and carrots (weird I know), and half a handful of peanuts and wheat thins. Got me through college.

  4. i’ve been dealing with ibs like symptoms for a long long time …and doctors see me with so much weight loss and say i’m depressed to make myself eat. SO, I make/force myself to eat anyway and still feel like crap…i’m at a loss and since no insurance and unemployed i can’t afford professional guidance. Add to that the fact that eliminations and things intimidate me because I don’t want to be obsessive about food like I have been in the past. I’m just so frustrated. I wonder if there’s something I can do without all-out eliminations. I have drastic weight loss and a lot of lethargy and low energy and I’m no longer even athletic. My body is heavy and my brain “foggy” like. I’m fed up. I feel/see I eat more than any other blogger I see/know, so it amazes me that others eat so little or “normal” and are energetic and do not lose weight (though i think a lot of them have problems to be honest with orthorexia and more)…I’m discouraged and frustrated and want someone to give me a meal plan that doesn’t intimidate me :( But nothing in this world is free, and it seems like those of us who can’t afford things (no jobs and no coverage and struggling) are the ones who remain lost. I’m not vegetarian but can’t bring myself to be. i also get emotional at night and eat quite a lot , and its just something I can’t break

    This recipe here looks FANTASTIC! I buy the brown rice tortillas from “Food For Life”…I love all your post actually…wish you were my mentor/dietitian or buddy to chat to :)

    1. My heart goes out to you!! I know how frustrating IBS is. And I understand why you wouldn’t want to go on an elimination diet at this point.

      Obviously, my first recommendation would be to see a registered dietitian. I know it’s pricey, but if you seek out the RIGHT one, a couple of visits will be all you’ll need. Especially if your doctor can refer you over. Have you been tested for things like Celiac, Ulcerative Colitis, etc? It’s always a good idea to rule these kinds of things out before attempting an alternative route.

      For the night eating, I’ve found that it’s usually (not always) because not enough energy was taken in during the day hours. I’m not sure what a typical day of eating is like for you, but you could maybe try increasing your portions at breakfast/lunch/snacks. So, for example, have 2 cups of cereal instead of just 1 (or add in an extra snack midmorning, if you’re already doing this.) And add in some walnuts, maybe, if you like those. Are you super active, physically?

      (p.s. Although a vegetarian diet is very healthy, meat gets a bad rap. Chicken, fish, eggs, etc., are all great sources of protein and vitamins and minerals. So you if you don’t feel like giving up meat, don’t. There’s no reason to completely restrict this category of foods if you’re enjoying them. :D )

      Best luck!! Please don’t ever hesitate to ask questions along the way!

Leave a Reply

